Gold Standard Rose Trials




The Gold Standard Trials are the result of a joint initiative between professional rose breeders represented by BARB (British Association of Rose Breeders) and NIAB (National Institute of Agricultural Botany). Unlike some rose trials, breeders pay a fee for each rose variety submitted to the Gold Standard trials which are independently managed by NIAB at their Cambridge headquarters.

Based on cumulative information gathered from invited independent judges throughout the two year period of the trial, the Gold Standard is awarded to worthy varieties. Health, floriferousness, scent and commercial appeal are all considered key factors. The first trial was planted in 2004 (and judged during 2005 and 2006) with the results confirmed in autumn 2006. The completion in 2013 of the latest trial added a further five roses to the 'Gold Standard Hall of Fame' making a total to date of 80 Gold Standard roses. With the trials set to continue it is anticipated that more roses will receive this accolade in the future.

Other rose trials conducted to establish the performance of new, and in some cases established, rose varieties include the International Merit Trials at the Royal National Rose Society in St Albans, the Glasgow International Trials at Tollcross Park, the Pencoed Trials in Wales, the City of Belfast International Rose Trials and, now in its 30th year, the Rose of the Year trials.

The Gold Standard roses can be seen at Roath Park, Cardiff, Borde Hill Garden, Haywards Heath, West Sussex, Hever Castle in Kent and the Royal National Rose Society, St Albans.

Full details of the varieties listed, and in commerce, can be found in our 'Rose Locator' section.

Gold Standard (words and device) is a registered trade mark belonging to the British Association of Rose Breeders.


 AWARDED IN 2006 (Trialled 2005-2006)

AWARDED IN 2007 (Trialled 2006-2007)

AWARDED IN 2008 (Trialled 2007-2008)

AWARDED IN 2009 (Trialled 2008-2009)

AWARDED IN 2010 (Trialled 2009-2010)

AWARDED IN 2011 (Trialled 2010-2011)

AWARDED IN 2012 (Trialled 2011-2012)

AWARDED IN 2013 (Trialled 2012-2013)



Roses UK has provided this website for your benefit. Please contact us with any comments or suggestions you may have for its improvement.